Home page Up (parent) Next (right) Previous (left) Abbreviations

Page last updated on 8 October, 2020

Association for Insight Meditation Home Page

Pāli Proper Names — O

Obhāsa Sutta.– Of the four types of radiance: that of the sun, the moon, fire, and wisdom — the radiance of wisdom is the chief. A.ii.139 f.

Odaka Sutta.– Few beings are born on the land, most are born in the water. This is on account of their ignorance of the Four Noble Truths. S.v. 467.

Odātagayhā.– A class of eminent devā (described as pāmokkhā), among those present at the teaching of the Mahāsamaya Sutta. D.ii.260.

Oddaka.– A name of a clan, occurring in a list of tribes. Ap.ii.358.

Odumbaragāma.– A reservoir built by Parakkamabāhu I. Cv.lxviii.48.

Odumbarangana.– A village given by Jetthatissa III to the meditation hall (padhānaghara) at the Mahānāga-vihāra (Cv.xliv.97).

Ogadha or Satayha Sutta.– A Noble Disciple who is possessed of unwavering loyalty to the Buddha, Dhamma, and Saṅgha, is bound to win, in time, to the bliss in which the holy life is steeped (ogadha). (S.v.343 f). For the name see KS.v.298, n.1.

Ogālha Sutta.– See the Kulagharaṇī Sutta

Ogha Sutta

Oghapañha Sutta

Oghatarana Sutta

Oghātaka.– A poor brahmin of Kosala, father of Muttā Therī. ThigA.14.


Ojasī.– Servant of Kuvera. He takes Kuvera’s messages and makes them known in Uttarakuru. D.iii.201; DA.iii.967.

Ojita.– One of the two merchants, the other being Ujita, leaders of caravans, who gave the first meal to Sikhī Buddha after his Enlightenment (ThagA.i.48). They correspond to Tapassu and Bhallika in the account of Gotama Buddha.

Okāsalokasūdanī.– A work by an anonymous author, mentioned in the Gandhavaṃsa (p.62). It seems to have also been called Okāsaloka (p.72).

Okilinī Sutta


Okkalā.– The people of Okkalajanapada (MA.ii.894); mentioned also in the Apadāna (ii.359) in a list of tribes. See Ukkalā.

Okkāmukha.– King of Kapilavatthu. He was an ancestor of the Sākyā and the eldest son of Okkāka and his queen Bhattā (or Hatthā).

Okkantika Saṃyutta.– The twenty fifth division of the Saṃyuttanikāya, and the fourth section of the Khandha Vagga. S.iii.225‑8.

Okkhā Sutta

Olandā.– The name given in the Cūḷavaṃsa to the Dutch in Sri Lanka. See Cv. Index.

Onatonata Sutta


Opamma Saṃyutta.– The twentieth section of the Saṃyuttanikāya, so called because it is rich in parables or similes (opamma). (S.ii.262 ff).

Oparakkhī.– One of the four wives of Candakumāra (J.vi.148).

Opāsāda.– A brahmin village in Kosala, the residence of Cankī, who lived in royal fief granted to him by Pasenadi. To the north of the village was a forest of sāl-trees where oblations were offered to various deities. The Buddha once stayed here in the course of his wanderings (M.ii.164).

Opavuyha Thera

Orambhāgiya Sutta

Orima Sutta.– On the hither and the further shores: wrong view (micchādiṭṭhi) — is the hither shore and its opposite, right view (sammādiṭṭhi), is the further shore. A.v.233.

Orittiyūrutombama.– A locality in South India. Cv.lxxvi.299.

Osadha.– See Mahosadha in the Umaṅga Jātaka.


Ottabhāsā.– One of the eighteen languages prevalent in the world, none of which are suited for the proclamation of the Dhamma. VibhA.388.


Otturāmallaka.– The chieftain of Dhanumandala who was brought under subjection by the general Rakkha. Cv.lxx.17, 18, 28.

Ovāda Sutta

Ovāda Vagga.– The third section of the Pācittiya rules in the Sutta Vibhaṅga. Vin.iv.49‑69; also v.16‑18.