Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello, everyone!
I started the search for a more wholesome life after I discarded the spiritual life offered to me by a concerned friend. This friend wanted to introduce me to Christianity, before then I was a nominal Catholic whose parents did not actually believe any of it. I read the Bible and very quickly rejected it for its unsettling and violent nature. I then began to read some of the classics, looking for a moral and effective way of living my life. I started practicing alone when I was thirteen after reading several Suttas from the Majjhima Nikaya on Access to Insight. The first sutta I read was the Sigalovada Sutta translated by Narada Thera and I was taken by how wholesome it was. The delight in the morality it promoted only took a backseat to the real liberation the Buddha offered when I started to read the Vitakkasanthana Sutta and put his teachings to the test. Ultimately it is what changed my mind for the better, as my concentration became sharper, and my life was less leaden by the problems that surrounded me.